If you have a Google+ Profile attached to a Gmail account as well as a Google Apps account, you can now merge those two accounts together.
Google Apps, a hosted service that lets businesses, schools, and other institutions use Google products, received support for Google+ last October. However, the migration tool that the company promised wouldn’t appear for another nine months.
The tool — which is part of Google Takeout — enables you to transfer your information and Circles from one Google account to another, automatically forwarding followers to your preferred account.
How To Merge Google Plus Accounts
Although it seems simple, the process itself is a little tricky. First you have to click Google+ Circle Transfer at Google Takeout. Then you must request a transfer. There is a seven-day waiting period before the process begins. The process takes 48 hours to complete and once it’s started, it can’t be cancelled or reversed.
During this time, you won’t be able to share anything with or manage either Google+ account. If you’re planning on performing a transfer, try to plan it around some down time.
Once complete, Circles, blocks, and ignores are copied from your source account to the destination account. However, content (such as profile information, posts, or comments) from the original account won’t be transferred to the destination account.
“If you no longer need your source account Google+ profile, downgrade the profile associated with your source account and select Delete your entire Google+ profile,” explained Google. “Before downgrading, we recommend downloading your Google+ data from your source account at Google Takeout.”
More information about this process can be found on a Google+ help page. Before you dive in, we recommend backing up all of your important data first.