Creative Commons

Les images sont un composant essentiel du marketing de contenu.

32 % des spécialistes du marketing l'affirment, le contenu visuel est la plus importante forme de marketing, suivi par la rédaction d'articles de blog.

Lorsque les spécialistes du marketing sont nombreux à rechercher des images à ajouter à leurs blogs et articles, ils se tournent vers Google Images. Malheureusement, la plupart des images que vous trouverez sur Internet ne sont pas libres de droits.

Creative Commons est une solution conçue pour aider les créateurs de contenu qui souhaitent accéder à des visuels à usage partagé par les artistes, qu'il s'agisse d'animations, de musiques, d'images ou autre.

Créée en 2001, Creative Commons est une association à but non lucratif dont l'objectif est de proposer une alternative aux personnes qui souhaitent partager leurs travaux et les rendre plus accessibles. Le contenu pris en charge par Creative Commons est disponible partout sur Internet, sur Wikipédia, sur Flickr et dans des millions de vidéos sur YouTube.

D'un bout à l'autre du globe, les contenus sont protégés par des droits de propriété intellectuelle dès qu'ils sont créés. Il est impossible de légalement copier ou diffuser des images et des vidéos disponibles en ligne sans l'autorisation de leur créateur. Toutefois, nombreux sont les artistes enclins à partager leurs travaux. Creative Commons permet aux titulaires de droits d'autoriser les internautes à utiliser leurs contenus, dans une certaine mesure.

Licences Creative Commons

Pour faire savoir qu'ils autorisent le partage de leurs contenus, les artistes doivent placer ceux-ci sous licence Creative Commons. À ce jour, il existe six types de licences Creative Commons. Certaines permettent aux internautes qui utilisent le contenu d'une autre personne d'y apporter des modifications ou de l'utiliser à des fins commerciales, alors que d'autres l'interdisent.

Si un artiste souhaite que les internautes puissent modifier ses contenus mais ne pas les utiliser à des fins commerciales, il pourra opter pour la licence Attribution – Pas d'utilisation commerciale. Voici les autres licences disponibles :

Trouver des contenus Creative Commons

Les images mises à disposition via Creative Commons sont faciles à trouver, sur Wikipedia Commons et Flickr. Vous pouvez également lancer des recherches sur Google pour trouver des visuels sous licence Creative Commons. Pour cela :

Avant d'utiliser des contenus sous licence Creative Commons pour vos graphiques sur les médias sociaux et dans vos articles de blog, pensez toujours à vérifier les conditions de ladite licence. Les créateurs vous autorisent à utiliser leurs contenus d'une manière bien spéciale. Si l'utilisation que vous en faites va à l'encontre des conditions définies par la licence Creative Commons associée, vous pourrez faire face à des sanctions en vertu des lois relatives aux droits d'auteur.

Creative Commons

Images are an important aspect of content marketing.

32% of marketers consider visual content to be the most essential form of marketing, with blogging in second place.

When many marketers start searching for images to add to their blogs and articles, they turn to Google Image Search. Unfortunately, most of the pictures you’ll find online are subject to copyright terms.

Creative Commons is a solution designed to support content creators who want access to attribution-free content from the artists behind various animations, music, images and more.

Creative Commons is an organization that began in 2001. The group aims to help people share their creativity in a more “accessible” world. The work supported by Creative Commons appears all over the internet, in Wikipedia, Flickr and on millions of videos on YouTube.

Across the globe, pieces of content are given copyright protection from the moment they’re created. People cannot legally copy or distribute images and videos that they find online without the permission of the creator. However, many artists are happy to have their work shared and used. Creative Commons gives rights holders a way to show that they’re glad to permit specific uses of their content.

Creative Commons licenses

To indicate that they’re happy for their content to be shared, artists must place a Creative Commons license on their work. There are currently six Creative Commons licenses available. Some licenses allow people using another person’s material to make adaptations to that work, or use it commercially, while others do not.

If an artist wanted people to be able to adapt their content, but not use it for commercial purposes, they would choose an Attribution-NonCommercial license. Other licenses include:

  • Attribution – Users may adjust, build upon and use work commercially as long as they credit the creator.
  • Attribution-ShareAlike – Users may tweak and build upon work in commercial and non-commercial settings as long as they license new creations and credit the original creator.
  • Attribution-Non-Commercial-ShareAlike – The same as the “Attribution-ShareAlike” license, but commercial use is not allowed.
  • Attribution-Non-Commercial – Users can use the content however they like as long as it is not for commercial purposes.
  • Attribution-NoDerivs – Users can use the content however they want as long as it is not tweaked or adjusted and the creator is credited.
  • Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs – Users cannot change the work or use it for commercial purposes.

How to find content with Creative Commons

Images made available to use via Creative Commons are easy to find on Wikipedia Commons or Flickr. It’s also possible to search on Google for visuals with a Creative Commons license. To search on Google:

  • Select the “Tools” tab on Google Images
  • Click on “Usage Rights”
  • Select the Creative Commons license suitable for your needs

Remember, before you use Creative Commons content on your social media graphics and blog posts, you need to check the details of the license. The creator is permitting you to use their work in a specific way. If you use the content in a way that is not allowed by the Creative Commons license, you will be subject to copyright law.