Google has added an “Ignore” button to its Google+ social networking site. The service already offers the ability to block someone, but the new ignore feature will let you see less of what a person is sharing without completely blocking him or her.

By ignoring someone you are saying that you’re not interested and you don’t want to see what he or she is sharing. When you choose to ignore someone you will no longer see any of his or her posts in your Incoming stream. Additionally you will no longer receive notifications about his or her activities and he or she will no longer appear on your Circles page.

The Ignore button can be accessed clicking next to a person’s name in the Notifications stream or the Incoming stream. You can ignore multiple people at once from your Circles page – just highlight names and click ignore. You will still be able to view content shared by someone you ignored by visiting his or her profile page. If you change your mind you can view a list of people you’ve ignored and add them back to your circles.

Blocking someone means that you no longer want to see content shared by this person on Google+ at all. After selecting this option he or she is removed from both your circles and extended circles and new posts will stop appearing in your stream. Furthermore, he or she will be unable to view anything you share with your circles and won’t be able to comment on any of your posts. In neither instance will the person you’re ignoring or blocking be notified of the action.

“We want to make sure you can represent your real-life relationships on Google+ – whether you want to connect with someone or not,” explains Olga Wichrowska, a Google+ engineer.

The new ignore feature is still being rolled out; however, there appears to be a lot of mixed reactions to the new feature as seen in the commenters on Wichrowska’s blog post announcing the feature. Both features will be improved over the upcoming months, but it will be interesting to see if the response changes at all once brands are able to join Google+.

Watch the video below to see a demo of the new feature:

[Via: The Next Web, Image credit: Derrick Tyson]