Facebook Login was updated this week and now requires third-party developers to separately ask users for permission to post content back to the social network. Formerly known as Facebook Connect, this feature gives people a fast and easy way to sign in to their favorite apps.

For members, it’s useful because they don’t have to remember their passwords — login credentials are verified in just one tap. Developers like it because it allows them to tap into a ton of information from Facebook to help create a more personalized experience. It also lets customers find friends using the app more easily, which could lead to more engagement and longer use times.

The tool has been used to connect people to their apps at least 850 million times per month. But despite the volume, not many people are actually aware of what’s being shared between Facebook and the app. In April, the social network vowed to release an improved mobile login experience with better permissions, and now that update has arrived.

Facebook has put together a checklist to help developers optimize for higher conversion and a good user experience. These best practices include building a trusted relationship and only asking for the permissions that you need. Apps that follow the company’s policies can see Facebook Login conversion rates above 80 percent.

Lyft asks, for example, only asks for public profile, email, and friends lists rather than information that might seem excessive to members. It also assures people using Facebook Login that it will never post on their walls without their permission. Similarly, lets people try the app before logging in which helps to build trust before asking for their information.

The goal behind this update is to rid members of “app spam” in their News Feeds. Stories from apps have become much more prominent since the introduction of the new News Feed. If you’re hoping to grab the attention of your fans’ friends, make sure it’s worthwhile content.

[Via: Inside Facebook, Image credit: Sam Michel]