It’s Twitter Tip Tuesday — every Tuesday we’ll focus on one Twitter Tip and show you how to integrate it into your social media strategy. This week we remind you to check your Twitter social sharing buttons on your website or blog to make sure they point to your Twitter handle and not someone else’s.

If you have a website or a blog, chances are you have social sharing icons installed on your site. These icons or buttons usually appear near your headline or at the bottom of your articles and allow readers to easily share your content right from your website. Here’s what you need to look for to make sure these buttons are configured properly.

Promote Your Twitter Handle — Not Someone Else’s

Tweet Button

There are a number of different Twitter Widgets, applications and plugins that you can add to your website or blog to help people share your content on Twitter. Once you install the widget, a button such as “Retweet” or “Share on Twitter” appears on your page wherever you specified in the code.

When a reader clicks on the button or icon to share to Twitter, usually a Twitter pop-up appears with the title of the page or article, followed by a link to the page and a reference to the Twitter account associated with the content. A reader then clicks a “Submit” or “Tweet” button to post the link to Twitter. In the example below, the settings for the official Twitter “Tweet” button have been modified to include the @Sprout_Insights Twitter handle every time someone wants to share any of our articles on Twitter.

Retweet from Insights

In the example below, however, the default settings for the Twitter social sharing button on this website have not been modified to reflect the Twitter account associated with the content. Instead of including the Twitter handle of the website’s author, the default “@AddThis” account is included in the tweet.

Improperly Configured Tweet Button

If you look closely in the bottom-left corner, this link has been shared 28 times. That means the author has not been promoting his own Twitter account when his website’s content is being shared, he’s been promoting the Twitter account of the social sharing widget provider. Furthermore, these tweets do not show up as Twitter mentions to the author, so unless he’s been checking his Twitter “Interactions” he might not even know people are sharing his website content on Twitter.

Every social sharing solution provider has its own procedure to change the default settings of its widgets and plugins. Be sure to check the documentation or FAQ page for specific instructions on how to change the Twitter handle from its default setting to a custom Twitter handle of your choosing.

Also, be sure to test your social sharing buttons once they’ve been installed to make sure you’ve set up everything correctly. While it’s okay to acknowledge the provider of your social sharing widgets, you certainly don’t need to include its Twitter handle in your tweets every time your website content is shared on Twitter.