This week, Pinterest introduced two new features that enable you to block and report someone in an effort to keep the community “positive and respectful.”

Despite only opening its doors to the public two months ago, Pinterest has attracted more than 20 million members. But with its quick rise to popularity, the site has also become a popular destination for internet trolls and spammers.

If you’ve been using Pinterest for a while now, then you’ve probably noticed the random surges in spam followers. You’re not alone; the ability to block someone was actually the third most popular feature request on the site.

Blocking someone means that both you and that person can’t follow each other’s boards. Additionally you won’t be able to like, repin, or comment on each other’s pins. As with to Twitter, that person won’t be notified, but he or she will know they’ve been blocked when they try to follow you or interact with your pins.

To block someone, go to an individual’s profile and hover over the small flag icon on the right side of his or her profile information. Then just click the red “Block” button that appears in the drop-down menu. In addition to blocking, you can also choose to report that person. The reporting option is available within the same menu you used to block someone. When you report someone it sends an alert to Pinterest’s Community team to review the account for violation of Pinterest’s terms.

Finally, Pinterest also introduced additional email controls that let you choose which actions warrant notifications. You can access these controls by visiting Settings and going to Change Email Settings. The new features are rolling out gradually, so it might be a few days before you see them on the web. Mobile apps will receive them in the next update.

[Via: VentureBeat, Image credit: AngryJulieMonday]