It’s Twitter Tip Tuesday — every Tuesday we’ll focus on one Twitter Tip and show you how to integrate it into your social media strategy. This week we show you how to audit the applications you’ve allowed to access your Twitter account.

We’re all busy. It’s a sign of the times. We sign up for newsletters that we never read, we test applications thinking they’re going to change our lives. Some do, but most just end up adding clutter to our digital lives.

Worse still, when you sign up for various services, apps or trials using your Twitter account to log in, you’re actually granting those services varying levels of access to your Twitter account at the same time. In a worst-case scenario, sometimes hackers or nefarious service provides use that access to send out spam messages from your Twitter account.

Whether it’s to counter spam attacks or simply to practice good housekeeping, here’s how to audit and maintain the apps that access your Twitter account.

How to Access Your Apps

Audit the Apps You Authorize

To audit the apps you’ve allowed to access your Twitter account, click the silhouette icon in the top right hand corner of your Twitter home page. Select the first option in the list: “View my profile page.” After the screen refreshes, just below the silhouette icon, click the button entitled “Edit your profile.”

On the left side of your screen, there’ll be a column of options. Click the last link entitled “Apps” to see a list of applications you’ve granted access to your Twitter account. Most people are surprised by the number and type of apps in the list!

Consider revoking access to apps that are unfamiliar to you. If you don’t even recognize the apps you’ve granted access to your Twitter account, chances are you no longer use these apps and it’s a good idea to remove them from the list.

Next, consider removing apps that you recognize but no longer use, or apps that are duplicates of newer or more effective services you’re currently using. To revoke an app, simply click the button entitled “Revoke access” to the right of each app. If you change your mind, you can always click the button which should now read “Undo Revoke Access.”

If you’re unsure whether to remove an app or not, you may be suffering from FOMO. Have no fear. The worst that can happen is that one of the apps you removed will ask you for access to your Twitter account the next time you run that service.

On the upside, you’ll reduce your risk of unauthorized use of these apps, and you’ll streamline your Twitter account to focus on the tools, services and applications that give you the most value. In fact, auditing your apps now and again may prompt you to revisit and reuse some of the services that inspired you to include them within your Twitter account in the first place!

When was the last time you audited the apps that access to your Twitter account? Any surprises? Let is know in the comments below.